Store bought no more: Salsa you won’t come back from

IMG_5661
I recently went in on a CSA. I first learned about CSA goods and the wonder of local, farm-fresh food during graduate school when I moved in with some fellow grad students. I haven’t had a chance to participate as easily until this season. So for 12 weeks I’ll now be getting a full share, that I’m splitting with a co-worker. I believe my freezer will be well-stocked and my tastebuds in wonder.

This last week there proved to be an abundance of tomatoes, so I decided to bring salsa to a gathering this weekend so that they didn’t go to waste (you can also freeze tomatoes). I’ll never go back to store bought salsa. It just isn’t even comparable.

Homemade Salsa
15 minutes
In a food processor, process separately and then combine (tomatoes will be too small if you do them all together):
– 3C tomatoes (about 3C), any variety you’d like
– Half a large onion (yellow or red, your choice, I use yellow or vidalia since it is easier on my stomach)
– 1 green pepper, cored and deseeded

In a purée machine (I used a nutribullet):
– One handful of cilantro
– 1/4 tsp cumin
– 1/4 tsp garlic powder (or one clove of fresh garlic)
– 1/4 tsp dried cayenne pepper OR 1/2 deseeded fresh jalapeño pepper
– 1/4 tsp salt
– fresh ground black pepper
– 1 tsp vinegar
– juice of 1/2 lime (you may deseed and purée the half instead of squeezing)
– 1/4 tsp sugar or natural sweetener

Once rough ingredients and puréed ingredients are done, mix together, let sit for 15-30 minutes and enjoy with your favorite salsa chips.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

